DIY – Dreamcatcher

Not going to lie, I feel pretty bad ass packing up my bags, hopping on a plane, and coming to Cali with nothing but a place to stay and some food to eat. No real plans, no real friends here.. I just came hoping for the best and a good surf instructor. Things could not be going better: there’s dank Cuban food, hippies to hang with, boutiques on Melrose and of course, my lovely Uncles who are putting me up (and spoiling me rotten). LA’s my heaven, haven, whatever.

Still, there are some nights where bad dreams and fears start to take over. Luckily, I brought the dreamcatcher I made with my sister right before I showed up at LAX. There’s no guarantee of its magic; but it reminds me of my lil sis, peace, and my besties back in Boston. Shout out to Heather for the crafty inspiration! Here’s how to make your own:

1. Start with a small hoop. I used the inside ring of a wooden embroidery hoop that’s about 6 inches in diameter. You’ll also need embroidery thread, beads, feathers, ribbon, and anything else you want to hang from the dreamcatcher. Go crazy.

2. Start by tying a knot with you’re thread where you want the top of your dreamcatcher to be. Pull the string so it’s on the inside of the hoop. Now, here’s the basic knot you’ll use to finish the webbing: Loop the thread over the hoop, then back through the hole you’ve created. Make the next loop about one-two inches away, and repeat around the hoop. Make the last loop about half an inch from where you started.

3. Starting from the last loop, make the same motion, but go over the first loop of string in the hoop. Make sure to keep pulling the string kind of tight, but not too tight, so it begins to make the webbing. On either your third or fourth time around the hoop, slide a small bead onto the thread, this will be you’re spider.

4. Once you’re web looks good, repeat the loop twice in the same spot; this will make a knot. Slide a bead onto the excess thread. Let the excess thread hang a few inches, and tie a feather to the bottom. Then, slide the bead over the knot and the stem of the feather.

5. Hang more feathers, ribbons, beads, or anything else you find around the house to the bottom of the dreamcatcher to make it yours. Be inspired.

Leave a Reply

